Conmebol overturns red card, Plata available for Flamengo | OneFootball

Conmebol overturns red card, Plata available for Flamengo | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Gazeta Esportiva.com

Gazeta Esportiva.com

·22 September 2025

Conmebol overturns red card, Plata available for Flamengo

Article image:Conmebol overturns red card, Plata available for Flamengo

This Monday, four days after the match between Flamengo and Estudiantes, Conmebol officially annulled the expulsion of Gonzalo Plata. The player is thus free to participate in the return match of the Libertadores.

Plata was sent off by Colombian referee Andrés Rojas during the first leg of the quarterfinals. After an exhaustive review of the footage, according to Conmebol, the Referees' Commission concluded that the second yellow card was a clear mistake.


OneFootball Videos


With a spot in the semifinals at stake, the decisive clash between Flamengo and Estudiantes is scheduled for 9:30 PM (Brasília time) this Thursday, in La Plata. Having won 2-1 at Maracanã, the team supported by Plata has the advantage of a draw.

Check out the Conmebol statement:

Regarding the expulsion of the Flamengo player, Gonzalo Jordy Plata Jiménez, during the first leg of the quarterfinals of the CONMEBOL Libertadores 2025, the South American Football Confederation informs that, after an exhaustive review of the match footage, the Referees' Commission concluded that the second yellow card was the result of a clear mistake.

It should be noted that, according to the Rules of the Game, the second yellow card resulting in expulsion is not subject to VAR review, which is why the sanction in question was not reviewed during the match.

With the aim of safeguarding the principles of sports justice and fairness, CONMEBOL decided to annul the legal consequences of the same, allowing player Plata to play in the next match.

This decision reflects CONMEBOL's commitment to Fair Play, the integrity of the game, and respect for the essence of football, ensuring that no player is harmed by a manifestly incorrect sanction.

This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇧🇷 here.

View publisher imprint