Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo: Ex Serie A Referee Blasts Neroverdi Manager: “No Penalty” | OneFootball

Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo: Ex Serie A Referee Blasts Neroverdi Manager: “No Penalty” | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: SempreInter.Com

SempreInter.Com

·22 September 2025

Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo: Ex Serie A Referee Blasts Neroverdi Manager: “No Penalty”

Article image:Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo: Ex Serie A Referee Blasts Neroverdi Manager: “No Penalty”

Former Serie A referee Luca Marelli offered his verdict on a controversial incident in last night’s match between Inter Milan and Sassuolo.

Speaking to DAZN via FCInter1908, Marelli supported Livio Marinelli’s decision not to award a penalty to Sassuolo.


OneFootball Videos


Inter Milan sneaked into the win column, beating the Serie A newcomers 2-1 at San Siro.

However, Cristian Chivu’s side had to navigate a late storm to return to winning ways.

Indeed, Walid Cheddira cut Inter’s lead in half after Federico Dimarco and Tarik Muharemovic’s own goal fired the Nerazzurri 2-0 up.

Furthermore, Sassuolo had fiercely protested against Marinelli’s decision to wave ‘play on’ after Nemanja Matic fell inside the box.

The Serbian veteran went to the ground after a challenge from Davide Frattesi.

However, there was not enough intensity in the duel as Marinelli let the play to continue.

Meanwhile, Fabio Grosso lashed out at the Serie A official after the game.

Moreover, Matic joined his manager in criticizing the referee’s call, arguing that he should have won the penalty.

Luca Marelli Blasts Fabio Grosso & Nemanja Matic After Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo Win

Article image:Inter Milan 2-1 Sassuolo: Ex Serie A Referee Blasts Neroverdi Manager: “No Penalty”

EMPOLI, ITALY – SEPTEMBER 12: Livio Marinelli referee gestures during the Serie A match between Empoli FC and AS Roma at Stadio Carlo Castellani on September 12, 2022 in Empoli, Italy. (Photo by Gabriele Maltinti/Getty Images)

“Matic and Grosso complain about a hold by Frattesi in the box that could have led to a penalty,” Marelli said.

“Matic’s fall is delayed relative to the hold; the Sassuolo player tries to control himself and then lets himself drop after failing to maintain control.

“It was correct not to award a penalty. The hold occurred.

“However, it wasn’t strong or prolonged enough to warrant a spot-kick, as Matic continued the play and only marginally felt the hold,” explained the refereeing expert.

“The second case is a serious error by referee Marinelli. At the end of the match, it was an easy decision.

“He calls a foul on Dimarco, and the player behaves unsportingly.

“Dimarco knew the game was stopped and apologized.

View publisher imprint