Report – Reason why VAR didn’t intervene in possible penalty on Real Madrid star in Girona draw | OneFootball

Report – Reason why VAR didn’t intervene in possible penalty on Real Madrid star in Girona draw | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Madrid Universal

Madrid Universal

·1 December 2025

Report – Reason why VAR didn’t intervene in possible penalty on Real Madrid star in Girona draw

Article image:Report – Reason why VAR didn’t intervene in possible penalty on Real Madrid star in Girona draw

Real Madrid saw their winless run in La Liga extend to three games as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Girona on Sunday night at Estadi Montilivi.

Having gone behind to an Azzedine Ounahi strike, the Merengues levelled things up through a Kylian Mbappe penalty.


OneFootball Videos


Despite pushing in search of an equaliser, Xabi Alonso’s men could not find a way through, meaning they are now a point behind Barcelona, who are now the table-toppers.

Penalty not given

Following the game, Real Madrid complained about a potential penalty not given involving substitute Rodrygo Goes.

The Brazilian forward went down under pressure from Girona star Joel Roca inside the penalty box in the 80th minute.

Ricardo de Burgos Bengoetxea, the on-field referee, did not award the foul, and Juan Luis Pulido Santana did not intervene from the VAR room either.

RMTV lashed out at the same, while Xabi Alonso also questioned the lack of intervention from the VAR.

“I didn’t see it, but I’ve been told that it was a play that could have been reviewed by VAR because of the contact,” said Alonso.

“It’s surprising, we’ll have to see it. These are decisive plays that can change the game,” he added.

Reason for VAR not intervening

Now, according to Mundo Deportivo, the incident was an on-field decision and not a clear and obvious error for the VAR to intervene.

Referee De Burgos Bengoetxea assessed the possible foul by Roca on Rodrygo and he felt that the contact did not appear strong enough to justify a penalty.

Once he decided not to award a penalty, the response from VAR Juan Luis Pulido Santana was considered correct. It was not a clear and obvious error that required action from the VOR room or a review on the monitor.

This aligns with the current CTA policy, introduced at the start of the season, which states that the on-field referee’s decision must take priority. The VAR intervention, or lack of it, was therefore deemed correct.

View publisher imprint