Was it a foul? Racing’s goal ruled out for Sosa’s infringement | OneFootball

Was it a foul? Racing’s goal ruled out for Sosa’s infringement | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Radio Gol

Radio Gol

·23 October 2025

Was it a foul? Racing’s goal ruled out for Sosa’s infringement

Article image:Was it a foul? Racing’s goal ruled out for Sosa’s infringement

The midfielder from La Academia scored with a header, but referee Valenzuela immediately interrupted the play due to a foul on the Colombian Jorge Carrascal.

Racing is losing 1-0 against Flamengo at the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro in the first leg of the Copa Libertadores semifinals, although Santiago Sosa scored a header that was immediately invalidated by the Venezuelan referee Jesús Valenzuela, who saw a foul in the jump.


OneFootball Videos


After a first half where they competed equally against the Carioca team, La Academia had a good start to the second half and, eleven minutes in, had their clearest chance. The full-back Gabriel Rojas sent a cross that fell to the far post, where Sosa outjumped Jorge Carrascal and sent the ball to the back of the net after hitting the crossbar and a local defender.

However, Valenzuela immediately called a foul on the Argentine midfielder over the Colombian attacker, and therefore, the play did not progress and the intervention of VAR was not necessary. Additionally, Sosa was booked for his strong protests against the referee.

With two minutes left in regular time, Marcos Rojo scored an own goal and Fla secured the 1-0 victory. The return match, which will determine the first finalist of the continent's main tournament, will be the following Wednesday at 21:30.

This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇪🇸 here.

View publisher imprint