Radio Gol
·6 de octubre de 2025
Argentine refereeing under fire: same teams always benefit

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsRadio Gol
·6 de octubre de 2025
Matchday 11 left us with several questionable and even bizarre plays, with the referees under scrutiny.
Estudiantes drew 1-1 against Barracas Central at Estadio UNO. Guido Carrillo scored for the home team in a match full of controversial refereeing decisions.
On matchday 11 of the Clausura Tournament, Estudiantes tied 1-1 against Barracas Central at Estadio UNO. Eduardo Domínguez's team dominated much of the game, but several decisions from VAR and referee Nazareno Arasa sparked controversy and frustrated the team from La Plata.
In the second half, El Guapo took advantage of a controversial play to equalize the match. After a studs-up challenge by Facundo Bruera on Facundo Rodríguez that went unpunished, Jhonatan Candía picked up a rebound and scored the 1-1. The action generated strong protests from the entire home squad.
Minutes later, Tiago Palacios scored the goal that could have given Estudiantes the win, but referee Nazareno Arasa, following VAR's advice, disallowed the goal for an alleged offside that was not confirmed by the replays. The decision sparked anger among the players and fans, who blamed the refereeing and Chiqui Tapia.
https://twitter.com/TNTSportsAR/status/1974943433945964781
Near the end, Edwuin Cetré also saw a goal ruled out for offside, this time correctly. Despite their efforts and dominance of the game, Estudiantes could not break the deadlock and had to settle for a point.
Yael Falcón Pérez showed the red card to the River midfielder in the first half and did not validate a goal by the striker.
The Gigante de Arroyito witnessed an intense first half between Rosario Central and River Plate, in a match corresponding to matchday 11 of the Clausura Tournament. And the first 45 minutes were not without controversy.
The course of the match was affected from the 37th minute, when Juan Portillo was sent off after receiving a second yellow card in a short span, following a foul on Ángel Di María at the edge of the box. This left River with ten men, forcing Marcelo Gallardo's team to fall back and reorganize their tactics.
The sending off of the midfielder, formerly of Talleres, can be explained by two correct decisions from the referee. Portillo was booked a few minutes earlier for grabbing Di María by the neck. Then, he was booked again for recklessly bringing down Fideo.
The score opened at 10 minutes, when Miguel Borja took advantage of a precise pass from Juan Fernando Quintero and finished at the near post of Jorge Broun, making it 1-0 for the visitors. This play was the first clear goal opportunity and was finished efficiently by the Colombian striker.
However, at the 27th minute, Borja himself scored again after a rebound in the box, but the goal was disallowed for offside by Facundo Colidio, according to referee Falcón Pérez. This was also correct, since there was only one defender when the Colombian finished and the ball hit the striker who previously played for Boca Juniors and Inter Milan.
Even so, the play could have been disallowed from the start. At first glance, Borja appears to be onside, but this is due to an optical effect called "parallax error," which is the angular deviation that occurs when an object is observed from different viewpoints. That is, due to the camera angle, the River striker seems onside, but if you draw the lines with vanishing points, it is easily proven that he was offside.
Controversies Godoy Cruz Independiente
The Bodeguero's protests for a controversial play inside Rodrigo Rey's box were ignored by Andrés Gariano, when Agustín Auzmendi went down fighting for the ball against Franco Paredes.
On the other hand, when Matías Abaldo charged into enemy territory at full speed and was fouled by Vicente Poggi, the referee had no doubts: penalty. From the spot, Santiago Montiel put it in the top corner, leaving Franco Petroli with no chance. A goal that changed the course of the match.
Quinteros' team took a hard blow. Despite demanding another penalty for a handball by Juan Morán when Abaldo was about to score the 2-1, the refereeing decided to let play continue, and Germán Delfino, from the VAR, agreed with Gariano not to call the referee to review the play on the monitor.
This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇪🇸 here.