Glorioso 1904
·30 de noviembre de 2025
Pedro Henriques reviews missed foul in Nacional v Benfica: it has to be...

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsGlorioso 1904
·30 de noviembre de 2025

Pedro Henriques has no doubts about an incident that occurred in Choupana. According to the arbitration expert, a penalty should have been awarded in favor of Benfica, after a foul committed on Leandro Barreiro in Nacional's area, even though the player was not involved in the play.
Quoted by the newspaper A Bola, in the edition of this Sunday, November 30, the former referee and now correspondent for the sports daily clarified that, indeed, there was an infraction on the Benfica player, emphasizing that the VAR should have intervened to alert the match referee, Iancu Vasilica.
"As long as the ball is within the field of play and the game is ongoing, any infraction that occurs, even far from the ball, must be penalized", Pedro Henriques began by saying, explaining that there was a foul, even though Benfica's number 18 was not directly involved in the play that was happening.
"This is a good example where there is a clear and evident push by Matheus Dias on Barreiro, inside the island area, with the ball being played more than 25 meters away on the right flank of Benfica's attack", explained Pedro Henriques.
"Being a foul far from the ball and, especially, from the referee's eyes, the intervention of the VAR was necessary", concluded the expert quoted by the newspaper A Bola. It should be noted that the match in question ended with a victory for Benfica. Benfica's goals only came during injury time, scored by Gianluca Prestianni and Vangelis Pavlidis.
This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇵🇹 here.


En vivo


En vivo


En vivo


En vivo


En vivo































