Rossi: 3 refereeing errors involving Plata in Flamengo v Estudiantes | OneFootball

Rossi: 3 refereeing errors involving Plata in Flamengo v Estudiantes | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Coluna do Fla

Coluna do Fla

·19 de septiembre de 2025

Rossi: 3 refereeing errors involving Plata in Flamengo v Estudiantes

Imagen del artículo:Rossi: 3 refereeing errors involving Plata in Flamengo v Estudiantes

Agustín Rossi Blasts Refereeing by Colombian Andrés Rojas


The refereeing scandal in Flamengo's 2-1 victory over Estudiantes (ARG) led to numerous complaints from the red-black side. According to Agustín Rossi, just in the actions involving Gonzalo Plata, the Most Beloved has three reasons to lament the choices of referee Andrés Rojas.

According to Rossi, the incident that led to the first yellow card for Plata wasn't even a foul. In addition, the goalkeeper points out that in the play that led to the second warning, the Ecuadorian was fouled. Finally, the penalty should have been awarded to Flamengo at Maracanã.


OneFootball Videos


WHAT DID ROSSI SAY ABOUT ANDRÉS ROJAS'S REFEREEING?

We started quickly with two goals, we had control of the game until the second yellow for Gonzalo Plata. These things happen. Often nobody controls how the refereeing defines situations. The first yellow wasn't even a foul. In the second, it's Plata who gets a kick in the foot —, said Rossi.

These are refereeing decisions. We are dissatisfied with the result, especially since the game was under control. But that's it. It's important that we won the first game and we have another 90 minutes to play there and qualify and that's what we're going to aim for —, added the goalkeeper in the mixed zone at Maracanã.

WHAT WERE THE PLAYS INVOLVING PLATA IN FLAMENGO X ESTUDIANTES?

At 27 minutes, Plata had a clash with an Estudiantes player and cleanly got the ball, without a foul. But the referee saw an infraction and gave a yellow card to the forward, who left in a rage. Then, at 37 minutes, the number 50 received a kick in the box, but the referee saw a stomp by the winger and gave the second card, consequently a red one.

Conmebol itself acknowledged the error in the call on Friday (19) and removed one of Plata's cards. Therefore, the player is cleared for the return match, next Thursday (25), in La Plata, starting at 9:30 pm (Brasília time), with full coverage from Coluna do Fla.

This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇧🇷 here.

Ver detalles de la publicación