Arteta hits out at VAR after Arsenal penalty overturned against Newcastle | OneFootball

Arteta hits out at VAR after Arsenal penalty overturned against Newcastle | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: The Football Faithful

The Football Faithful

·29 September 2025

Arteta hits out at VAR after Arsenal penalty overturned against Newcastle

Gambar artikel:Arteta hits out at VAR after Arsenal penalty overturned against Newcastle

Mikel Arteta is adamant that referee Jared Gillett was wrong to overturn a penalty call for Arsenal against Newcastle United following an intervention from VAR.

The Australian match official awarded the Gunners a spot kick after Nick Pope clashed with Viktor Gyokeres in the box in the first half.


Video OneFootball


Gillett reversed his decision after being instructed to review the incident at the pitchside monitor and seeing that Pope had touched the ball before colliding with Gyokeres.

Newcastle went on to take the lead through Nick Woltemade, but two late goals from Mikel Merino and Gabriel Magalhães secured a huge win for Arsenal at St. James’ Park on Sunday.

“We fully deserved the win,” Arteta said after the final whistle. “The way we played, the way we competed. We fully deserved the win.

“The chances we generated. I think we fully deserved to win the game. We did it in a dramatic manner, but so happy and so proud of the team.”

Arteta hits out at VAR after Arsenal penalty overturned against Newcastle

Arteta added that VAR should not have intervened after the initial penalty call, claiming that it was not a clear and obvious error.

“Well, I watched it back and watched it live as well,” he said. “And if it’s not a clear and obvious error, VAR should not intervene.

“We’ve been told this for a few years, this style of decision again, and for me, it’s very clear that it doesn’t have to intervene because it’s a penalty.”

Former Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart explained why Gillett was right to change his mind on BBC Match of the Day. “There’s definite contact,” the pundit said.

“Pope, with those size 13 feet of his, gets a toe on it. Not only does he get a toe on it, he manages to divert the ball away from goal. But that’s not the most important point. As Pope plants his foot, he’s deemed not to be using a forward motion towards Gyokeres.

“Therefore, as Gyokeres’ knee clashes into Pope’s knee, it is just seen as a clash of bodies. It’s not Pope taking him out. It’s not a foul. Not a penalty.”

Follow The Football Faithful on Social Media:

Lihat jejak penerbit