STJD charges Vitor Roque, Palmeiras striker may miss Flamengo clash | OneFootball

STJD charges Vitor Roque, Palmeiras striker may miss Flamengo clash | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Coluna do Fla

Coluna do Fla

·9 Oktober 2025

STJD charges Vitor Roque, Palmeiras striker may miss Flamengo clash

Gambar artikel:STJD charges Vitor Roque, Palmeiras striker may miss Flamengo clash

Vitor Roque from Palmeiras published an image framed as a discriminatory act


Flamengo might have good news for the match against Palmeiras in the Brasileirão. This is because the Superior Court of Sports Justice (STJD) charged forward Vitor Roque this Thursday (09), who could face a ten-game suspension.

After Palmeiras' 3-2 victory over São Paulo in the last round of the Brasileirão, Vitor Roque provoked the rival. The forward, nicknamed 'tiger', posted a photo of the big cat with its teeth sunk into the neck of a deer.


Video OneFootball


Why is it a discriminatory act?

The image alludes to an old provocation that labeled São Paulo as a “team of deer”. Therefore, the STJD framed him under article 243-G, which deals with discriminatory acts. The punishment ranges from five to ten games.

When is Palmeiras' trial?

There is no date yet for the trial of the homophobia case. Thus, it cannot be confirmed if Vitor Roque will be in the match against Flamengo, which takes place on the 19th of this month.

Competition table provided by Superscore

The match is important for the future of the Brazilian Championship. After all, currently, Flamengo and Palmeiras are tied at the top with 55 points.

Did the STJD charge anyone else?

Besides Vitor Roque, referee Ramon Abatti Abel and video assistant referee Ilbert Estevam da Silva were charged for “failing to observe the rules of the sport”. If convicted, they could face a suspension of 15 to 120 days.

Allan from Palmeiras slipped and knocked down Tapia from São Paulo. However, Abatti Abel did not call the foul on the field, and the VAR team analyzed that “the contact is accidental and the ball is leaving the area”.

This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇧🇷 here.

Lihat jejak penerbit