FCBinside.de
·5 Oktober 2025
"Wrongly disallowed! Should Frankfurt’s goal against Bayern have stood?"

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsFCBinside.de
·5 Oktober 2025
FC Bayern won the Bundesliga top match against Eintracht Frankfurt convincingly with 3:0 – but one scene sparked heated discussions after the match. The supposed equalizer by Frankfurt's Jean-Matteo Bahoya was disallowed after a VAR intervention due to a handball. According to BILD referee expert Michael Gräfe, this was a clear wrong decision.
"The equalizer by Frankfurt should have counted," emphasizes Gräfe. "The VAR should not have intervened in this scene at all. And even after viewing the images, referee Siebert should have stuck with his on-field assessment – even if he might not have noticed the handball."
The former FIFA referee further explains: "Only if the scorer deliberately plays the ball with the hand can the goal be disallowed. If something happens two or three plays before or at a distance from the goal action, only a truly deliberate handball can be penalized."
In this case, the opposite was true: "It is clear that it was not a deliberate but a careless handball. The player moves the ball to the left, actually wants to go right past the defender, and accidentally hits it with his hand – even against his own running direction."
Gräfe's conclusion is clear: "In this respect, it was never a deliberate handball. And if the scene had happened in the other penalty area, no one would have thought of awarding a penalty. The arm was not outstretched, there was no enlargement of the body surface, and it was from a short distance. The goal should have counted – bad luck for Eintracht," concludes Gräfe.
This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇩🇪 here.
Langsung
Langsung
Langsung