Glorioso 1904
·28 agosto 2025
Pedro Henriques on Barreiro’s disallowed goal: Benfica v Fenerbahçe

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsGlorioso 1904
·28 agosto 2025
Pedro Henriques believes that the disallowed goal by Leandro Barreiro in the Benfica – Fenerbahçe match should have counted. According to the former referee, the Benfica player gives a slight touch to Archie Brown, but it is not enough to prevent the Turkish team player from contesting the play.
“In the 23rd minute, the referee disallowed a goal for Benfica because, in his view, when the ball was crossed into the goal, Leandro Barreiro allegedly pushed Archie Brown from behind, thus taking the Fenerbahçe player out of the play,” Pedro Henriques begins in his analysis of the incident.
“However, with all the replays, it seems that a slight, very momentary touch was given on Brown's back, but a clearly inconsequential and non-intense touch. I do not agree with the decision to disallow the goal,” concludes Pedro Henriques, considering the referee team's decision negative.
At the end of the Benfica – Fenerbahçe match, Leandro Barreiro was questioned about the incident: “Yes, there is a touch on top. But I don't know if I touched the player's foot, I haven't seen the play yet. It was the referee's decision and it can't be changed. The most important thing is that even with the disallowed goals, we managed to win the game.”
After eliminating Fenerbahçe and advancing in the Champions League, Benfica will play again next Sunday at 6:00 PM, visiting Alverca's ground. The match pertains to the fourth round of the Liga Portugal Betclic, following victories against Estrela da Amadora and Tondela.
This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇵🇹 here.
Live
Live
Live
Live