Radio Gol
·06 de outubro de 2025
Argentine refereeing in doubt: controversies favour same teams

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsRadio Gol
·06 de outubro de 2025
Matchday 11 left us with several questionable and even bizarre plays, with the referees under scrutiny.
Estudiantes drew 1-1 against Barracas Central at the Estadio UNO. Guido Carrillo scored for the home team in a match full of controversial refereeing decisions.
On matchday 11 of the Clausura Tournament, Estudiantes tied 1-1 with Barracas Central at the Estadio UNO. The team led by Eduardo Domínguez dominated much of the game, but several decisions by the VAR and referee Nazareno Arasa sparked controversy and frustrated the team from La Plata.
In the second half, the Guapo took advantage of a controversial play to equalize the match. After a tackle by Facundo Bruera on Facundo Rodríguez that went unpunished, Jhonatan Candía seized a rebound and scored the 1-1. The action generated strong protests from the entire home team.
Minutes later, Tiago Palacios scored a goal that could have given Estudiantes the victory, but referee Nazareno Arasa, at the VAR's suggestion, annulled the goal for an alleged offside that the replays did not confirm. The decision sparked anger among the players and fans, who pointed fingers at the refereeing and Chiqui Tapia.
https://twitter.com/TNTSportsAR/status/1974943433945964781
At the end, Edwuin Cetré also saw a goal disallowed for offside, this time correctly called. Despite their efforts and dominance in the game, Estudiantes couldn't break the tie and had to settle for a point.
Yael Falcón Pérez showed the red card to the River midfielder in the first half and disallowed a goal by the attacker.
The Gigante de Arroyito witnessed an intense first half between Rosario Central and River Plate, in a match corresponding to matchday 11 of the Clausura Tournament. The initial 45 minutes were not without controversy.
The match's development was affected from the 37th minute when Juan Portillo was sent off after receiving a second yellow card in a short time, following a foul on Ángel Di María at the edge of the area. This action left River with ten players, forcing the team led by Marcelo Gallardo to retreat and reorganize their tactical scheme.
The midfielder's expulsion, with a past at Talleres, is explained by two correct decisions by the referee. Portillo was booked a few minutes earlier for grabbing Di María by the neck. Then, he was booked again for recklessly bringing down Fideo.
The score opened at 10 minutes when Miguel Borja capitalized on a precise pass from Juan Fernando Quintero and finished at Jorge Broun's near post, establishing a 1-0 lead for the visiting team. This play represented the first clear goal opportunity and was effectively executed by the Colombian forward.
However, at 27 minutes, Borja himself scored again after a rebound in the area, but the goal was disallowed for offside by Facundo Colidio, according to referee Falcón Pérez. This was also correct, as there was only one player at the moment the Colombian finished, and the ball hit the forward with a past at Boca Juniors and Inter Milan.
Nonetheless, the play could have been disallowed from the start. At first glance, Borja seems to be onside, but this is due to an optical effect called "parallax error," which is the angular deviation that occurs when an object is observed from different viewpoints. In other words, due to perspective, because of the transmission camera's position, the River forward seems to be onside, but if lines are drawn with vanishing points, it is easily verified that he was offside.
Godoy Cruz Independiente Controversies
The Bodeguero's complaints about a controversial play inside Rodrigo Rey's area were ignored by Andrés Gariano when Agustín Auzmendi fell while contesting the ball against Franco Paredes.
In contrast, when Matías Abaldo charged into enemy territory at full speed and was fouled by Vicente Poggi, the referee had no doubt: penalty. From the penalty spot, Santiago Montiel placed it in the top corner, leaving Franco Petroli with no chance. A goal that changed the course of the match.
Quinteros' team received a hard blow. Despite demanding another penalty for a handball by Juan Morán when Abaldo was about to score the 2-1, the refereeing decided to let the play continue, and Germán Delfino, from the VAR, agreed with Gariano in not calling the referee to review the scene on the screen.
This article was translated into English by Artificial Intelligence. You can read the original version in 🇪🇸 here.