Barca Universal
·11 September 2025
Referees Committee admits mistake with allowing Barcelona’s goal vs Mallorca to stand

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsBarca Universal
·11 September 2025
In three matchweeks in the 2025/26 season, La Liga has already seen several questionable calls from referees and VAR.
Reigning champions FC Barcelona have been involved in some of these dubious decisions, a few going their way and a few against.
As announced recently, the Referees’ Technical Committee (CTA) will now conduct a review of controversial decisions from the opening three rounds of La Liga and provide explanations.
Earlier today, the CTA published its first review from the first three matchweeks, in its Tiempo de Revision programme – with Barça being involved in two cases.
The first incident involving Barcelona to be reviewed was Ferran Torres’ goal against Mallorca at Son Moix in their first game of the season.
The goal was allowed to stand by referee Munuera Montero despite Mallorca defender Antonio Raillo collapsing in the box after taking a blow to the head, leading to controversy.
Now, according to the CTA, the referee erred in letting play continue. Their assessment of the incident read as follows:
“This case can help us understand the concussion protocol. When there is a blow to the head, the player comes first. As you can see, a Mallorca defender is hit in the head by the ball and is left lying in his area. Seconds later, a Barcelona attacker scores a goal.
“What does the protocol say? That in the event of any suspicion of concussion, the referee must stop the game immediately so that the player can be treated.
“The referee allowed play to continue, but the blow to the player meant that play should have been stopped at that moment. Only if the shot on goal came immediately after the impact would the goal be valid.”
“Therefore, the correct decision was to stop play. The incident reminds us that the safety of the player comes first and everything else second.”
The second incident involving Barcelona that came up was the moment at the Ciutat de Valencia against Levante, where the hosts were awarded a penalty for an Alejandro Balde handball. On this occasion, the CTA backed the referee, Hernandez Hernandez.
“In this play, we are going to understand a situation of handball. The fundamental thing is the movement of the arm,” the assessment read.
“What happens? The arm starts from a low position, and as the attacker prepares to shoot, it rises to a right angle to the body, in a position that is not natural for the game.
“The movement causes the defender to voluntarily increase the space he occupies and block the ball with his arm as it was heading towards the goal. The referee correctly awards a penalty, as the arm is in an improper position and prevents a clear shot on goal.”
The CTA therefore believes Barça were wrongly favoured in Mallorca but fairly punished in Valencia.