Madrid Universal
·3 settembre 2025
Just in – FIFA agrees with referee’s decision to disallow Arda Guler’s goal vs Mallorca

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsMadrid Universal
·3 settembre 2025
According to an update from Mundo Deportivo, FIFA has given its complete backing to referee Jose Maria Sanchez Martínez after he disallowed Arda Guler’s goal against Mallorca.
It is to be noted that the decision was made following intervention from VAR and a monitor review, and it has since been confirmed to be in line with the rules of the game.
The controversial moment came in the 54th minute when Guler’s effort would have made it 3-1 for Real Madrid.
Initially, Martinez allowed the goal to stand, but VAR official Juan Luis Pulido Santana advised him to review the play.
After watching the footage, the referee ruled the goal out, citing an “accidental and immediate handball.”
The rule specifies that a goal must be disallowed if it is scored “directly with the hand or arm, even if the action occurs accidentally, including the goalkeeper” or “immediately after the ball touches the hand or arm, even accidentally.”
In the hours after the match, debate quickly spread. Some questioned whether the action truly fit the definition of an accidental handball, since the ball had rebounded off Mallorca goalkeeper Leo Roman before Guler’s final strike.
Arda Guler’s goal was disallowed against Mallorca. (Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images)
To put the matter beyond doubt, Spain’s refereeing body (CTA) requested confirmation from FIFA.
The governing body fully endorsed the referee’s ruling, supporting both Sánchez Martínez and Pulido Santana’s judgment.
The CTA later issued a circular clarifying how such incidents should be judged under IFAB regulations. It highlighted that an accidental handball can only be ignored if the player clearly gains control and possession before scoring.
It stated: “GOAL AFTER ACCIDENTAL, NON-IMMEDIATE HANDJOB. The player who scores a goal after the ball accidentally touches his hand or arm, but the action is not immediate because the ball is carried for a certain distance.”
In Guler’s case, there was no controlled possession. Instead, there were two immediate strikes – the second coming after Roman’s rebound.
For this reason, FIFA concluded that the referee’s call was correct in every respect.